Restore Mac Back To Factory

Restore Mac Back To Factory

Now that you’ve saved all your data, and removed your account information, it’s time to wipe the slate clean and give your Mac fresh start with a new owner. The following steps will help you wipe the entire drive, and reinstall the operating system.

Make sure you’re connected to the Internet (preferably wired) and BE SURE YOU HAVE CLONED OR BACKED UP YOUR DATA BEFORE DOING THESE STEPS. You’ve been warned…

  1. Restart your Mac and hold down the “Command” and “R” keys during startup until you Mac is in Recovery Mode
  2. Select “Disk Utility” and click “Continue”
  3. Choose your main startup disc (named “Macintosh HD” by default) and click “Unmount”
  4. Click Erase tab in the upper-middle section of the screen
  5. Confirm that the format is “Mac OS Extended (Journaled)” and the name is “Macintosh HD” and click “Erase” in the lower-right side of the screen
  6. Quit Disk Utility
  7. Click “Reinstall OS X” and click “Continue”

UPDATE: If you REALLY want to TOTALLY wipe your drive, during the Erase portion (#4 above), click “Security Options” and you will be presented with multiple options that offer a more comprehensive erase of your data. Shout-Out to Allison Sheridan of the NosillaCast Podcast for reminding me of the secure erase option.

The process should reinstall Mac OS X and prompt you to enter your Apple ID. This is where you shut down your computer, package it up with all the cables and any other accessories, and box it up for the new owner.